Colonel Darren E. Hamilton

Col. Darren E. Hamilton is the Wing Commander of the 179th Cyberspace Wing (CW) in Mansfield, Ohio. The 179CW is comprised of approximately 1,000 personnel who operate and support the mission of the Air National Guard's first Cyberspace Wing.

He joined the 179th Airlift Wing 1986, assigned as a Crew Chief on the C-130B aircraft.  He attended training to become a C-130 Flight Engineer in 1989.  He graduated from Kent State University in 1992 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Aerospace Technology. 

Col.  Hamilton was awarded Distinguished Graduate at the Academy of Military Science in 1994. He attended Undergraduate Pilot Training at Columbus Air Force Base, Mississippi, followed by C-130 flight training at Little Rock Air Force Base (AFB), Arkansas. He returned to the 179th Airlift Wing (AW), Ohio ANG located at Mansfield Lahm Airport, as a traditional guardsman.  He has served as a Corporate Pilot, Airline Pilot and as a dual status military technician with the 179th AW in a multitude of roles to include: Flight Safety Officer, Training Officer, Assistant Operations Officer and 164th Airlift Squadron Commander.  He served as the Joint Force Headquarters Director of Operations Ohio (A3) before returning as the 179th Operations Group Commander.  He participated in Operations Restore Hope, Southern Watch, Joint Forge, Iraqi Freedom, Enduring Freedom and Freedom Sentinel.  He is a Command Pilot with over 5000 hours in the T-41, T-37, T-38, C-13O B/E/H and C-27J aircraft.

1992 Bachelor of Science, Kent State University, Kent, Ohio

1994 Academy of Military Science, McGhee Tyson ANG., Tenn.

2000 Squadron Officer School, Maxwell AFB., Ala., by correspondence

2004 Air Command and Staff College, Montgomery Ala., by correspondence

2016 Air War College, Montgomery Ala., by correspondence



  1. October 1986 - March 1989, Crew Chief, 179th Airlift Wing, Mansfield Lahm Airport, Ohio
  2. June 1989 – April 1994, Flight Engineer, 179th Airlift Wing, Mansfield Lahm Airport, Ohio
  3. June 1994 – June 1995 Undergraduate Pilot Training, Columbus AFB, Miss.
  4. June 1995 – May 2004 C-130 Pilot, 179th AW Mansfield Lahm Airport, Ohio
  5. May 2004 – December 2008, Flight Commander, 164th Airlift Squadron, Mansfield Lahm Airport, Ohio
  6. December 2008 – April 2011, Director of Operations, 164th Airlift Squadron, Mansfield Lahm Airport, Ohio
  7. April 2011 – March 2015, Squadron Commander, 164th Airlift Squadron, Mansfield Lahm Airport, Ohio
  8. March 2015- July 2017, Deputy Operations Group Commander, 164th Airlift Squadron, Mansfield Lahm Airport, Ohio
  9. July 2017 – November 2018, Director of Operations, Joint Force Headquarters, Dublin, Ohio
  10. November 2018 – December 2021, 179th Operations Group Commander, Mansfield Lahm Airport, Ohio
  11. December 2021 – Present, Wing Commander, 179th  Cyberspace Wing, Mansfield Lahm Airport, Ohio



Meritorious Service Medal
Air Medal
Aerial Achievement Medal
Air Force Commendation Medal
Army Commendation Medal
Air Force Achievement Medal
Air Force Combat Action Medal
Joint Meritorious Unit Award
Meritorious Unit Award
Air Force Outstanding Unit Award with Valor Device
Combat Readiness Medal
Air Reserve Forces Meritorious Service Medal
National Defense Service Medal
Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal
Kosovo Campaign Medal
Afghanistan Campaign Medal
Iraq Campaign Medal
Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal
Global War on Terrorism Service Medal
Armed Forces Service Medal
Humanitarian Service Medal
Air Force Overseas Ribbon Short
Air Force Expeditionary Service Ribbon with Gold Border
Air Force Expeditionary Service Ribbon
Air Force Longevity Service
Armed Forces Reserve Medal with 6 'M' Devices
AF Training Ribbon
NATO Medal
Ohio Faithful Service Ribbon
Ohio Special Service Ribbon
Ohio Award of Merit
Ohio National Guard Basic Training Ribbon



National Guard Association
Ohio National Guard Officer Association



Second Lieutenant Apr. 21, 1994
First Lieutenant May 4, 1996
Captain Sep. 4, 1998
Major Sep. 4, 2002
Lieutenant Colonel Dec. 21, 2006
Colonel Sep. 17, 2017

(Current as of October 2023)